Australian Woman’s FaceTime Call Freezes After She Flashes Her Partner and Apple Explains Why

Frankie, 25, says she will keep flashing her boyfriend on FaceTime despite her iPhone abruptly freezing the stream mid-gesture.

The Australian woman was chatting with her partner during his lunch break last week when she decided to expose her breasts to him. The call instantly paused and a message appeared on her boyfriend’s screen asking, “Are you sure you want to stay on this call?” The notification claimed the call was paused because it potentially showed nudity.

“I couldn’t speak to him, and he couldn’t speak to me,” she told news.com.au exclusively. “It just looked like he had paused on my end — like he’d turned his camera off, but there was no sound or anything. It was as if I got put on hold.”

Initially confused by the sudden dropout, she was stunned when her partner unpaused the call and showed her what had happened. She saw the message and thought, “What the hell?”.

Aussie woman’s FaceTime call freezes after flashing partner — Apple explains

The message also offered help, asking, “How do you feel? You don’t have to stay on this call if you don’t want to,” alongside buttons to either end the call (“Not Now”) or override the block (“Yes, Continue”).

“You don’t even know what Apple have, what they don’t, or what they see,” she said.

She then started questioning her choices because of this revelation. “What if you’re away and having phone sex or something? I went down a whole spiral thinking, what if it doesn’t recognise your body because of what their algorithm thinks nudity ‘should’ look like? What is their standard of what it’s supposed to look like?” Frankie revealed.

According to Apple’s official support documentation, the feature uses “on-device machine learning” to analyse photos and videos. Because photos and videos are analyzed on your device, Apple doesn’t receive an indication that sensitive content was detected and doesn’t get access to the photos or videos. This means that while the AI on the iPhone itself was smart enough to recognise Frankie’s body and freeze the transmission, no visual data was sent back to Apple’s servers or seen by any human moderators.

The feature is optional for adult users and can be toggled on or off in settings under Privacy & Security and then Sensitive Content Warning. For child accounts managed through Screen Time, the feature, known as Communication Safety, can be permanently enabled by parents to intervene when nudity is detected.

Aussie woman’s FaceTime call freezes after flashing partner — Apple explains

The post sparked a huge conversation, including people who were shocked by the surprising revelation. “Privacy is a myth. Now you know,” one person commented. “It’s pretty brilliant, actually. Creepy, but brilliant,” a third wrote. “Why are you surprised? You are holding a data-collecting sponge in your hand,” a fourth echoed.

Although there were many people who were in support of Apple’s feature, calling it a “great” addition to the system settings. “Girl, this is a blessing in disguise,” one person wrote. “This is what you call a great safety feature. One-touch option to proceed anyway if you really want to show whatever you’re showing, but an opportunity to save lives for those too dumb or naive to realise the dangers of sexting. Mildly infuriating? More like a mild blessing,” a fourth wrote.

Despite the message catching her off guard, Frankie says she won’t let the software stop her — though she’s made some adjustments. “Yeah, I’ll still do it! But I told him to turn the setting off on his phone, obviously,” she shared.

Share this story