106 House Republicans Announce Support For Texas Lawsuit

Over 100 Republicans on Thursday signed an amicus brief supporting the election lawsuit earlier filed by the State of Texas.

“This brief presents [our] concern as Members of Congress, shared by untold millions of their constituents, that the unconstitutional irregularities involved in the 2020 presidential election cast doubt upon its outcome and the integrity of the American system of elections,” the brief, signed by 106 lawmakers, read.

Study Committee Chairman Mike Johnson drummed up from his GOP colleagues for the brief. 

“President Trump called me this morning to let me know how much he appreciates the amicus brief we are filing on behalf of Members of Congress. Indeed, ‘this is the big one!’ ” Johnson tweeted.

Other key Republicans who signed the brief include Minority Whip Steve Scalise (La.); Rep. Jim Jordan (Ohio), the top Republican on the Judiciary Committee; Rep. Andy Biggs (Ariz.), the chair of the conservative Freedom Caucus; and Rep. Jim Banks (Ind.), the incoming Republican Study Committee chairman.

House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) and GOP Conference Chairwoman Liz Cheney (Wyo.) did not sign the brief.

“The president has a right for every legal challenge to be heard. He has the right to go to the Supreme Court with it, yes,” McCarthy said.

The Electoral College is scheduled to meet on Monday to cast their votes, and Congress is set to convene to certify the results on Jan. 6.

You May Also Like